Center for Computing Research (CCR)

Center for Computing Research

Kara J. Peterson

Kara J. Peterson
Computational Mathematics
Phone: 505/844-9372

Mailing address:
Sandia National Laboratories
P.O. Box 5800, MS 1318
Albuquerque, NM

I am currently a principal member of the technical staff in the Computational Mathematics Department. My research interests include:

  • Finite element method and compatible discretizations.
  • Stabilization methods for advection-dominated flows.
  • Optimization-based property-preserving transport schemes.
  • Sea ice modeling with the material-point method and an elastic-decohesive rheology.



  • Ph.D. Applied Mathematics, University of New Mexico 2008
  • M.S. Astrophysics, University of Colorado 1994
  • B.S. Physics, New Mexico State University, 1991

 Staff/Senior Scientist at Applied Research Associates  1995-2003.


Selected Publications & Presentations

  • Bochev, Pavel B., Denis Ridzal, Marta D'Elia, Mauro Perego, Kara J. Peterson, "Optimization-based, property-preserving finite element methods for scalar advection equations and their connection to Algebraic Flux Correction," Journal Article, Comp. Meth. Application. Mech. Engrg., Submitted May 2019.
  • Peterson, Kara J., Adrian Turner, Paul Allen Kuberry, Dan Stefan Bolintineanu, Andrew Roberts, Travis Davis, Min Wang, "DEMSI: A Performance Portable Sea Ice Model ," Poster, SciDAC PI Meeting, July 2019.
  • Peterson, Kara J., Pavel B. Bochev, Paul Allen Kuberry, Nathaniel Albert Trask, "Lagrange-Multiplier-Based Partitioned Method for Ocean-Atmosphere Coupling," Presentation, VIII International Conference on Coupled Problems in Science and Engineering, June 2019.
  • D'Elia, Marta, Denis Ridzal, Pavel B. Bochev, Kara J. Peterson, Mikhail Mikhailovich Shashkov, "Optimization-based mesh correction with volume and convexity constraints," Journal Article, Journal of Computational Physics, Accepted/Published May 2016.
  • Peterson, Kara J., Diana L Bull, Irina Kalashnikova Tezaur, Mauro Perego, Jennifer M Frederick, Erika Louise Roesler, Ray Bambha, Pavel B. Bochev, Mark Bosloughy, Leo Bynum, Lauren Dennis, Darielle Dexheimer, Benjamin Hillman, Anastasia Gennadyevna Ilgen, Mark D. Ivey, Katherine A. Klise, Hunter Anne Knox, Matthew Mcchesney, Hope A. Michelsen, Mark A. Taylor, "Arctic Climate Science Roadmap," SAND Report, September 2016.